Théodore Dubois


Cédric Tiberghien / BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra / Andrew Manze

CDA 67931 - 0034571179315

Information GreatBrittain Germany

Théodore Dubois is an unloved figure. Often scorned as the author of a forbidding treatise on harmony, he has come to symbolize the official artistic circles of a fin de siècle France overcast by the worrying shadow of a fiercely decried ‘academicism’. Born in 1837, he began his career as an outstandingly gifted student at the Paris Conservatoire, where he won multiple prizes, notably for the piano and for composition, including a Premier Grand Prix de Rome (1861). On his return to France from his residence at the Villa Medici, he immediately embarked on the natural course of a regular and patient professional ascent. Appointed professor of harmony at the Conservatoire in 1871, he became professor of composition there ten years later, then its director from 1896 until his retirement in 1905. Alongside these activities, he held a variety of posts in the field of church music, notably as organist of the Madeleine (1877–96). Honoured by the official milieux, elected a member of the Institut de France in 1894, Dubois enjoyed a privileged position for which his reputation was to suffer after his death. Yet, while remaining faithful to his ideals of clarity and respect for tradition, he was receptive to the advanced ideas of his time, as is demonstrated by his membership of the Société Nationale de Musique. His vast and varied output, eclectic in its inspiration, touches on every genre, and proclaims its indebtedness to Franck and Schumann as much as Brahms and Saint-Saëns.

Der wunderbare französische Pianist Cédric Tiberghien hat bereits mehrere bewunderte Konzert- und Kammermusikaufnahmen bestritten. Nun reiht er sich mit Werken von Théodore Dubois in die beeindruckende Pianisten-Riege ein, die zu der Aufnahmereihe der Romantischen Klavierkonzerte beigetragen haben, welche hiermit die 60. Folge erreicht. Drei Werke dieses französischen Komponisten sind hier enthalten, und repräsentieren ein packendes Panorama der Entwicklung Dubois’ über vierzig Jahre hinweg: das Concerto-Capriccioso von 1876 erscheint wie eine vorausgehende Studie im Stil von Komponisten wie Weber und Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, wohingegen das hochromantische Concerto in f-Moll (1897) an Saint-Saëns gemahnt. Die vollkommen unbekannte Suite für Piano und Streicher (1917), erinnert—für ihren Teil—an ein neoklassisches Pasticcio.

  • 1
    Concerto-capriccioso in C minor
  • 2
    Piano Concerto No 2 in F minor
    1: Allegro
  • 3
    Piano Concerto No 2 in F minor
    2: Adagio con sentimento profondissimo
  • 4
    Piano Concerto No 2 in F minor
    2: Adagio con sentimento profondissimo
  • 5
    Piano Concerto No 2 in F minor
    4: Con molta fantasia: Allegro con fuoco
  • 6
    Suite for piano and string orchestra in F minor
  • 7
    Suite for piano and string orchestra in F minor
  • 8
    Suite for piano and string orchestra in F minor
  • 9
    Suite for piano and string orchestra in F minor
    Allegro vivo