A Tribute to Arthur Prevost
Charles-Marie Widor / Felix Mendelssohn / Johann Sebastian Bach / Carl Maria von Weber / Alexandre Guilmant / Jules van Nuffel

A Tribute to Arthur Prevost

The Royal Symphonic Band of the Belgian Guides

WWM 500195 - 8713604001954

Information GreatBrittain Germany

Arthur Prevost (1888-1967) has been one of the legendary conductors of the Symphonic Band of the Belgian Guides. 
In 1918 he was appointed to conductor and immediately he reorganized the orchestra completely. He was to bring the band to the level of the best professional wind bands in the world.
Besides his crucial role in the development of the Royal Symphonic Band of the Belgian Guides, Prevost should be remembered for three particular merits. Prevost composed a series of splendid marches, including several official military marches. He also urged all important Belgian contemporary composers to write for wind band and specially for the Belgian Guides. Prevost wrote a great number of thrilling transcriptions made to measure for the Guides.
On the occasion of the 125th anniversary of his birth, the band pays a tribute to Arthur Prevost with this selection from that unique patrimony.

  • 1
    Italia rhapsody
  • 2
    Prelude & Fugue in A minor BWV 543
  • 3
    Organ Symphony nr.5
  • 4
    Psalm 141 “Voce mea ad Dominum clamavi” op. 47
  • 5
    Symphony for organ and orchestra nr.1 in D minor
  • 6
    Perpetuum Mobile
  • 7
    Symphony nr.4 (The Italian)
    Part 4: Saltarello