Harpsichord Works
Girolamo Frescobaldi

Harpsichord Works

Richard Egarr

GLO 5056 - 8711525505605

Information GreatBrittain Germany

Richard Egarr was born in Lincoln (England) in 1963. His musical training began as a chorister at York Minster, and at the age of 13 he was accepted to study piano and organ at Chetham's School of Music in Manchester. At 16, he gained his organ diploma with prizes, and became Organ-scholar at Manchester Cathedral. In 1982, he was awarded a place to read music, and the Organ-scholarship, at Clare College, Cambridge. It was during his time there that he began playing the harpsichord, and afler taking his Mus. B. degree in 1986, spent a year studying with David Roblou at the Guildhall School of Music in London. The following year, with the award of a Dutch Government Scholarship, he studied with Gustav Leonhardt in Amsterdam. In 1988, he took top prize in the International C.P.E. Bach Fortepiano-Clavichord-Harpsichord Competition in Hamburg. Richard Egarr has worked extensively throughout Europe in the major music festivals, both as a soloist and continuo player. He appears regularly with his own ensemble (formed whilst at University) The Cambridge Musick, and also with artists such as Mux van Egmond, Anner Bijlsma, Kate Bott, Philip Pickett and the New London Consort. He is also the harpsichordist with London Baroque.

  • 1
    Toccata Prima
  • 2
    Capriccio Sopra Ut, Re, Mi, Fa, Sol, la
  • 3
    Partite Sopra Ciaccona
  • 4
    Partite Sopra Passacagli
  • 5
    Canzone Terza
  • 6
    Toccata Settima
  • 7
    Cento Partite spora Passacagli
  • 8
    Capriccio Cromatico con Ligature al Contrario
  • 9
    Toccata Nona
  • 10
    14 Partite sopra l'Aria della Romanesca